Thursday, December 07, 2006

Dionne Warwick [My Friends & Me] 2006

01. Walk On By
02. Message To Michael
03. Close To You
04. I'll Never Love This Way Again
05. Raindrops Keep Fallin' On My Head
06. Deja Vu
07. I Say A Little Prayer
08. Anyone Who Had A Heart
09. Then Came You
10. Wishin' And Hopin'
11. Love Will Find A Way
12. The Windows Of The World
13. Do You Know The Way To San Jose

As part of the celebration of her 45th year in show business, legendary vocalist Dionne Warwick is revisiting some of her most legendary hits on My Friends and Me, an album of duets with a stellar lineup of female performers including Gladys Knight, Olivia Newton-John, Mya, Gloria Estefan, Kelis, Reba McEntire, Cyndi Lauper, Celia Cruz, Wynonna Judd, Cheyenne Elliott, Lisa Tucker, Deborah Cox, Chante Moore, Angie Stone and Da Brat.Bringing 13 classic songs by famed songwriting team Burt Bacharach and Hal David up to date with cutting-edge production by her son, acclaimed producer Damon Elliott (Barry White, Destiny's Child, Pink, Eminem, Keith Sweat, Jessica Simpson), My Friends and Me offered Warwick a unique opportunity to present timeless material in a timely fashion--and to, as she put it, "hang out with the girlfriends.""It's something I've been trying to get done for several years," Warwick says of the project. "I decided to celebrate my 40th year in the business with a world tour, which we're still on after almost four years. The object was to visit every continent, country and city that I've performed in during my career. It was a brilliant idea at the time!"Over the course of this global odyssey, Warwick signed with Concord and came up with the idea of the duets album featuring contemporary female vocalists and began reaching out to potential collaborators. The singer's extraordinary reputation ensured a surfeit of eager participants.Knight, who sang on Warwick's Grammy-winning 1986 smash (and invaluable AIDS research fundraising tool) "That's What Friends Are For," joins her for a powerful reading of "I'll Never Love This Way Again," while Newton-John guests on a bouncy interpretation of "Wishin' and Hopin'." R&B siren Mya lends her pipes to "Close to You," Kelis jumps in for "Raindrops Keep Fallin' On My Head," Estefan co-croons "Walk on By," Cruz helps point the way to "San Jose" and Cox, Moore, Stone and Da Brat help Warwick bring the socially conscious "Windows of the World" up to date, with Da Brat rapping about Iraq, Katrina and other controversial issues. By

No comments:





eXTReMe Tracker


As Seen On TV
Free Web Counter
karaoke songs
Free Web Counter