Saturday, October 28, 2006

Aziza Mustafa Zadeh - Shamans (2002)

128 Kpbs

01. Holiday Blessing
02. Lady's Of Azerbaijan
03. UV (Unutma Vijdani)
04. Sweet Sadness
05. M25
06. Ayrilik
07. Fire Worship
08. Shamans
09. Strange Mood
10. Uzun Ince Bir Yoldayim
11. Endless Power
12. Melancholic Princess
13. Bach-Zadeh
14. Portrait Of Chopin

Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan - Music of the Sufis (Qawwali)

Guo Yue: Flute
James Pinker: Percussion, Drums
Farrukh Fateh Ali-Khan: Vocals
Darryl Johnson: Bass, Piano
Dildar Hussain: Tabla
Robert Ahwai: Guitar
Peter Gabriel: Drums
224 Kpbs

01 Mustt Mustt
02 Nothing Without You
03 Tracery 04 The Game
05 Taa Deem
06 Sea Of Vapours
07 Fault Lines
08 Tana Dery Na
09 Shadow
10 Avenue
11 Mustt Mustt (Massive Attack Remix - Khan)

Bond - Born (2001)

Bond: Haylie Ecker, Eos (violin); Tania Davis (viola); Gay-Yee Westeroff (cello, double bass). Additional personnel includes: Carmen, Marta Sebestyen (vocals); Mark Wood, Ramon Ruiz (guitar); Pandit Dinesh, Michele Drees, Chucho Merchan (percussion); London Session Orchestra, Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. Producers: Magnus Fiennes, Yoad Nevo, Gareth Cousins, Mike Batt. Engineers include: Rick Featherstone, Pete Lewis, Gareth Cousins. Recorded at Abbey Road Studios, Cubshack, Townhouse Studios, and Whitfield Street Studios, London, England; Oakleigh Music Studio, Strattford, England from November 1999-May 2000. BORN, the debut album by the sultry string quartet Bond, is many things but certainly not a classical record in the traditional sense. And that's the point. The group expertly mines the crossover territory mapped out by artists such as Vanessa-Mae and Adiemus, and despite the hype and marketing, Bond shouldn't be dismissed as merely a pretty girl group cloaked in classical music pretension. Along with their photogenic looks, the group boasts impressive classical and pop music credentials and canny commercial instincts. The result: a big, polished production that sets classically derived themes and traditional string quartet instrumentation in a variety of musical contexts. The album's opening track, "Quixote," is indicative of the group's method--an ultra-romantic theme abruptly explodes into a high-energy pastiche of techno-style beats, electronically enhanced vocals, and Middle Eastern-flavored colorings. The foursome shows its multitude of musical influences in the worldbeat stylings of "Alexander the Great," the Abba-esque "Dalalai," the atmospheric "Oceanic" (with vocalist Marta Sebestyen), and "The 1812," the group's lavishly produced reworking of Tchaikovsky's well-known overture. The album closes fittingly with a remixed version of the anthemic "Victory," an apt declaration of Bond's take-no-prisoners approach.
192 Kpbs
01. Quixote
02. Winter
03. Victory
04. Oceanic
05. Kismet
06. Korobushko
07. Alexander The Great
08. Duel
09. Bella Donna
10. 1812, The
11. Dalalai
12. Hymn
13. Victory - (Mike Batt mix)

Bond - Classified (June 15, 2004)

Bond is a string quartet made up of four good-looking women, two from Australia, two from Great Britain. Their training is in purely classical music, which this CD certainly is not. Their previous CD was banned from the UK classical charts, presumably because of the overly insistent use of beats and other intrusions, and this CD too contains African, electro, Latin and hip-hop beats. Bond will be the first to acknowledge that they're heavily influenced by the club scene and pop culture from London to Bangkok. Here they are joined by the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, and the sound is enormous: there's level upon level of overdubbing. Some of the tracks have, as their basis, classical works: Pachelbel's Canon, snippets of Swan Lake, the Nutcracker, Carmen's Habanera, Brahms' Hungarian Dance no. 5, Barber's Adagio for Stings. But the sound we get is lush, beat-heavy, club-ish, full of excitement and basic rhythms, and the "classical" connection--aside from the melodies from the above-mentioned pieces--must be taken on faith. The women's solo playing, if there is any, is not audible. The over-riding feel is disco; this is for dancing and for creating a mood of excitement.
160 Kpbs
01. Explosive
02. Samba
03. Midnight Garden
04. Fly Robin Fly
05. Scorchio
06. Lullaby
07. Hungarian
08. I'll Fly Away
09. Dream Star
10. Highly Strung
11. Adagio For Strings
12. Senorita
13. Explosive

Friday, October 27, 2006

Yazoo - Upstairs at Eric's (1982)

01. Don't go
02. Too pieces
03. Bad connection
04. I before E except after C
05. Midnight
06. In my room
07. Only you
08. Goodbye 70's
09. Tuesday
10. Winter kills
11. Bring your love down (Didn't I)


Yazoo - You & Me Both (1983)

01. Nobody's diary
02. Softly over
03. Sweet thing
04. Mr Blue
05. Good times
06. Walk away from love
07. Ode to boy
08. Unmarked
09. Anyone
10. Happy people
11. And on



Red Hot Chili Peppers - Greatest Hits

01. Under The Bridge
02. Give It Away
03. Californication
04. Scar Tissue
05. Soul To Squeeze
06. Otherside
07. Suck My Kiss
08. By The Way
09. Parallel Universe
10. Breaking The Girl
11. My Friends
12. Higher Ground
13. Universally Speaking
14. Road Trippin'
15. Fortune Faded
16. Save The Population





eXTReMe Tracker


As Seen On TV
Free Web Counter
karaoke songs
Free Web Counter